MINUTES

OF THE PROCEEDINGS OF A MEETING OF NORTHAMPTON BOROUGH COUNCIL HELD AT THE GUILDHALL, NORTHAMPTON, ON THURSDAY 21 MAY 2009 AT ELEVEN O'CLOCK IN THE MORNING

PRESENT: HIS WORSHIP THE MAYOR Councillor Hill (in the Chair).

COUNCILLORS: Beardsworth, Capstick, Caswell, S. Chaudhury, Church, Clarke, J. Conroy, R. Conroy, Crake, De Cruz, Davies, Duncan, Edwards, Flavell, Garlick, Hadland, Hawkins, B. Hoare, Hollis, Lane, Larratt, J. Lill, Malpas, B. Markham, I. Markham, Mason, Matthews, Meredith, Mildren, Palethorpe, Perkins, Reeve, Scott, Taylor, P. D.Varnsverry, Wilson, Woods and Yates

1. ELECTION OF MAYOR

Councillor T Hadland proposed and Councillor K. Davies seconded "that Councillor Michael John Hill be elected Mayor of the Borough of Northampton for the ensuing year".

The motion was carried and Councillor M J Hill was appointed Mayor and accepted office by making and delivering to the Chief Executive the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

The Mayor then took the Chair.

2. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE OUTGOING MAYOR AND MAYORESS

Councillor D Garlick proposed and Councillor B Hoare seconded "That the thanks of Council be given to Councillor Brian Markham and Councillor Irene Markham for the able and courteous manner in which they have discharged their duties as Mayor and Mayoress during their term of office".

The motion was carried.

3. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

Councillor R Church proposed and Councillor S Beardsworth seconded "That Councillor Marianne Taylor be appointed to the office of Deputy Mayor for the ensuing year".

The motion was carried and Councillor M Taylor was appointed Deputy Mayor and accepted office by making and delivering the Chief Executive the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

4. APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Collins, Glynane, M Hoare, C Lill, J Lill, Simpson and P M Varnsverry.

5. LONG SERVICE

The long service of those employees shown in paragraph 5 of the agenda was noted with appreciation.

6. LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

Councillor Yates proposed and Councillor Hawkins seconded "That Councillors Woods and B Hoare be appointed Leader and Deputy Leader of the Council respectively for the ensuing year".

The motion was carried.

7. LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE OPPOSITION GROUP

Councillor Caswell proposed and Councillor Reeves seconded "That Councillor Palethorpe be appointed Leader of the Opposition and Councillor Larratt be appointed the Deputy Leader of the Opposition.

The motion was carried.

8. LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE LABOUR GROUP

Councillor Scott proposed and Councillor Capstick seconded "That Councillor Davies be appointed Leader of the Labour Group and Councillor Mason be appointed Deputy Leader of the Labour Group".

The motion was carried.

9. COUNCIL MEETINGS

RESOLVED: That the Annual and Ordinary meetings of Council during 2009/10 be held on the dates shown in paragraph 9 of the agenda.

10.COMMITTEE PROPORTIONALITY

The Leader of the Council submitted a report that had been circulated and Councillor B Hoare seconded its adoption.

RESOLVED: That approval be given to the number of seats on each Committee as detailed in the report and the representation of political groups be as set out in the report.

11.CABINET

RESOLVED: That the Leader of the Council, Councillor Woods, be the Chair of

the Cabinet and that the Cabinet members be Councillors Beardsworth, Church, Crake, Glynane, B Hoare and Mildren.

12.APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES

The Leader of the Council submitted a report and Councillor B Hoare seconded its adoption.

RESOLVED: That subject to the amendment of Overview and Scrutiny Committee 2: Housing and Environment, by the removal of Councillor Palethorpe's name and substitution of Councillor J Lill in his place, the appointment to Committee as set out in the report be adopted.

13. APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES

The Leader of the Council submitted a report and Councillor B Hoare seconded its adoption.

RESOLVED: That the appointments to outside bodies be noted.

14. CONSULTATION APPOINTMENTS

The Leader of the Council referred to the appointments listed on the agenda paper and Councillor B Hoare seconded their adoption.

RESOLVED: That the consultation appointments to the Community Enabling Fund Advisory Panel and the Markets Matters Group be as set out on the agenda page.

The meeting concluded at 12 noon.